Link

OAuth Flows

When a user clicks the Parallel Login button, they are sent to parallelmarkets.com to authenticate and potentially go through an accreditation flow. Partners can choose which flow a user experiences when they click the Parallel Login button (based on the value of the force_accreditation_check parameter described in our developer documentation). Each of the flow options is listed below with an example.

  1. Force Accreditation Check
  2. Do Not Force Accreditation Check
  3. Mixing Flows

Force Accreditation Check

If a Partner needs to know if a user is accredited, then they should force an accreditation check for all users with an unknown accreditation status (for instance, new users or users with expired accreditations). This is the default (the force_accreditation_check parameter described here is set to true). With this option, all users will be sent through the accreditation application process except those users who:

  1. have indicated they are not accreditable (i.e., they cannot meet the standards necessary)
  2. are currently accredited
  3. have a pending accreditation application

Finally, all users will be asked to consent to sharing their accrediation information (or other information, depending on which scopes are requested) unless they have previously granted consent.

Flow Diagram

This flow is outlined in the image below:

When Should This be Used?

This flow can be useful if the Partner only wants to grant access to users who are accredited (for instance, 506(c) Offerings), in which case the Partner would want to ascertain the user’s accreditation status as quickly as possible. In this case, all new users (and any other users with unknown accreditation status) should be forced into an accreditation flow before being redirected back to the Partner.

Do Not Force Accreditation Check

If a Partner only wants to authenticate the user and get permission to access to their data, then they can specify that they do not wish to force an accreditation check. In this case, every user will still be asked for permission to share data with the Partner (if they haven’t already granted consent), but the user will not see an accreditation flow even if their current accreditation status is unknown. It is possible that the user has an existing (or previous) accreditations, in which case the Partner will have access to that information when the user grants consent. The Partner would still get this information about the user if it exists already (for instance, a previous or current accrediation, or an indication the user has said they don’t meet the accreditation thresholds) - but the user won’t be forced into an accreditation flow if that information isn’t known yet.

Flow Diagram

This flow is outlined in the image below:

When Should This be Used?

This flow can be useful if the Partner does not yet care about accreditation status and only wants to permit a streamlined login process for existing Parallel Markets users. At any point in the future, the Partner can still send the client back to Parallel Markets while forcing an accreditation check to determine the status of anyone without an existing accreditation.

Mixing Flows

A Partner can send a user through any of the flows described at any point. For instance, some Partners have opted to not force an accreditation check on login. The Partner would still get information about the user if it exists already (for instance, a previous or current accrediation, or an indication the user has said they don’t meet the accreditation thresholds) - but the user won’t be forced into an accreditation flow if that information isn’t known yet. Then, at some later point, if a user indicates they wish to make an investment, the Partner will:

  1. Immediately allow the investment if the user has a current accreditation
  2. Send the user through a forced accreditation check flow if their accreditation status is unknown

This staged, incremental approach is supported and is entirely up to the Partner if they wish to use it.